Three members of UC Irvine’s School of Biological Sciences were recently recognized by Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society for achievement in their scientific disciplines and dedication to the society, which celebrates its 125th anniversary this year. Francisco J. Ayala, University and Bren professor, and Marlene de la Cruz, biological sciences outreach, research training and minority science programs associate director, were selected for recognition as Distinguished Members. Graduate student researcher Matthew J. Korn was selected for the Fresh Faces distinction. Founded in 1886, Sigma Xi is the international honor society for research scientists and engineers. Its members have included Albert Einstein, Linus Pauling, DNA discoverers Francis Crick and James Watson, and more than 200 other Nobel laureates. There are nearly 60,000 Sigma Xi members in more than 100 countries around the world, and membership is by invitation. The society endeavors to encourage support of original work in science and technology and to promote an appreciation within society at large for the role research has played in human progress.