For distinguished contributions to their fields, UCI professors Diane Campbell (ecology & evolutionary biology), Hamid Jafarkhani (electrical engineering & computer science), Frank LaFerla (pictured, neurobiology & behavior) and Bert Semler (microbiology & molecular genetics) have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world’s largest general scientific society. They and about 500 other new fellows will each receive an official certificate and a blue-and-gold rosette pin during the 2011 AAAS annual meeting Feb. 19 in Washington, D.C.