UC Irvine’s Andrej Luptak, assistant professor of pharmaceutical sciences, chemistry and molecular biology & biochemistry, is among 21 researchers nationwide named 2010 Pew Scholars in the Biomedical Sciences, one of the highest honors for early career scientists. Luptak will receive $240,000 over four years from the Pew Charitable Trusts to further his search for novel functions of RNA, cellular molecules that regulate gene expression, protein synthesis and transmission of genetic information. Celebrating its 25th anniversary, the Pew Scholar program has invested more than $125 million in about 500 scientists, including three Nobel Prize winners, three MacArthur Fellows and two recipients of the Albert Lasker Medical Research Award.