David Theo Goldberg, director of the University of California Humanities Research Institute and UCI professsor of comparative literature, and Cathy Davidson of Duke University were named Educators of the Year by the World Technology Network for co-founding the Humanities, Arts, Science & Technology Advanced Collaboratory (HASTAC, pronounced “haystack”). Established in 2002, HASTAC has had a profound impact leading innovative reform in higher education. The award recognizes the work of both the Digital Media & Learning Competition and the UC Humanities Research Institute. The four Digital Media & Learning Competitions to date have sponsored and mentored 89 learning projects in more than 20 countries, said Goldberg (pictured). The most recent one awarded a total of $3.5 million to 30 projects globally. “While the competition has international prominence, the award will further bring attention to the outcomes of the projects that the competition funds,” Goldberg said. The World Technology Network has been honoring visionaries in science & technology since 2000, singling out the “most innovative work of the greatest likely long-term significance.” The winners of the World Technology Awards were announced during a ceremony Oct. 23 at the Time-Life Building in New York, at the close of the World Technology Summit, presented by the World Technology Network in association with Time magazine, Fortune magazine, CNN, Science/AAAS, Technology Review and others.