The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change won the Nobel Peace Prize Friday, Oct. 12, for its work to alert the world to the threat of global warming. Several UC Irvine climate scientists have played a part in writing, reviewing and editing IPCC climate change reports over the last decade, including Donald Blake, Michael Goulden, Gudrun Magnusdottir, Michael Prather (pictured), James Randerson, Soroosh Sorooshian, Susan Trumbore, Stan Tyler, Jin-Yi Yu and Charlie Zender. According to the Norwegian Nobel Committee, “Through the scientific reports it has issued over the past two decades, the IPCC has created an ever-broader informed consensus about the connection between human activities and global warming.” The IPCC shares this award with former Vice President Al Gore.