The School of Medicine has announced this year’s Athalie Clarke and Junior Physician Scientist Award recipients. Sponsored by the Research Associates – the School of Medicine’s longest-standing support group – the awards acknowledge researchers who are making a notable impact on medical science. The 2007 Athalie Clarke Achievement Award winners are Sue Piper Duckles, professor of pharmacology, and Steven Wechsler (pictured), professor of ophthalmology. The Dean’s Junior Physician Scientist Award will go to outstanding researchers, Dr. Devin K. Binder, assistant professor of neurosurgery, Dr. Bang Hoang, assistant professor of orthopedic surgery, Dr. Pietro Galassetti, assistant professor of pediatrics and Dr. Krishnansu S. Tewari, assistant clinical professor of obstetrics and gynecology. An awards ceremony to honor these faculty members is scheduled June 7 at the Pacific Club in Newport Beach. Cost is $70. Info: 949-824-4313.