Recipients of UC Irvine’s highest honor, the Medal, were announced Wednesday, May 9, and will be feted at a gala in the fall. The honorees include Gavin S. Herbert, founder of Allergan Inc.; Edward H. Newland, collegiate water polo’s all-time leader in coaching victories; Audrey M. Schneiderman, community leader, philanthropist and longtime UC Irvine supporter; and William L. Pereira, first posthumous recipient and visionary architect and planner for the campus and the City of Irvine. “The 2007 honorees deserve our highest recognition for increasing the campus’s ability to serve its students and provide ongoing benefits for the community, the nation and the world,” Chancellor Michael V. Drake said.