The engineering school's Aparna Chandramowlishwaran, Yoonjin Won, Kristen Davis and Anne Lemnitzer (from left) were identified as early-career faculty with the potential to become academic role models. Debbie Morales / UCI

Four faculty members in UCI’s Henry Samueli School of Engineering have earned Faculty Early Career Development awards from the National Science Foundation. This year’s winners are Aparna Chandramowlishwaran, assistant professor of electrical engineering & computer science; Yoonjin Won, assistant professor of mechanical & aerospace engineering; Kristen Davis, assistant professor of civil & environmental engineering and Earth system science; and Anne Lemnitzer, assistant professor of civil & environmental engineering. These CAREER awards, which are among the NSF’s most prestigious, support early-career faculty who have the potential to serve as academic role models in research and education and to lead advances in their department’s or organization’s mission. Begun in 1995, the CAREER program provides promising junior faculty the opportunity to pursue outstanding research, excellence in teaching, and the integration of education and research.