Researchers from the UC Irvine Reeve-Irvine Research Center and Department of Orthopaedic Surgery received a top award at the 36th Annual Meeting of the Cervical Spine Research Society. The research team of Dr. Jeremy Smith, Thu Pham, Ryan Anderson, Dr. Nitin Bhatia, Oswald Steward and Dr. Ranjan Gupta won the Resident/Fellow Award for their project, “The role of durotomy and duroplasty following cervical spinal cord injury in an animal model.” Smith (pictured), an orthopedic resident and the study’s first author, also received an award of $2,000. The meeting took place Dec. 4-6 in Austin, Texas